Transactions · De-SPAC · 2019
Virgin Galactic 2019 De-SPAC (Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp.)
Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. raised $690.0 million in a September 2017 SPAC IPO and completed a business combination with the Virgin Galactic companies on October 25, 2019. The operating businesses were acquired for 130,000,000 shares at a deemed value of $10.00 per share. The sponsor received 15,750,000 shares on conversion of founder shares subscribed for $25,000 in aggregate, and SCH's chief executive officer separately purchased 10,000,000 shares from the selling shareholder for $100.0 million in cash.
Research status
- Status
- Research profile
- Completion verified
- Yes
Business, financial, transaction and governance analysis with pinpoint sources. Not a complete valuation report or DCF.
Scope and status
This is an integrated analysis of a single transaction that began with the formation and initial public offering of a special purpose acquisition company in 2017 and ended with the completion of a business combination in 2019. Under the repository’s coverage policy, the SPAC IPO does not receive a separate page.
The record is built from the SPAC’s IPO prospectus, the Form S-4 and the SEC staff’s review of it, the definitive proxy statement, the Form 8-K reporting the extraordinary general meeting, the Form 8-K reporting completion of the business combination, the annual reports and their amendments, the SEC’s XBRL company facts and a daily closing price series.
Transaction snapshot
| Item | Detail | Pinpoint source |
|---|---|---|
| Issuer | Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Transaction type | De-SPAC | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Ticker / exchange | SPCE / NYSE | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| CIK | 0001706946 | [S002] |
| Industry / SIC | Transportation services / commercial spaceflight / 4700 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| First public filing | August 23, 2017 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| SEC effectiveness | September 12, 2017 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Pricing date | September 13, 2017 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| First trading date | September 14, 2017 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Legal closing date | — | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Business-combination completion | October 25, 2019 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Offer / transaction price | $10.00 per share | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Primary shares sold | 69,000,000 shares | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Gross primary proceeds | $690,000,000 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Post-offering basic shares | 195,587,552 | [S001] [S005] [S006] |
| Basic equity value | $1.3bn | [C001] |
| Lead underwriters / advisers | Credit Suisse | [S001] |
Transaction perimeter and entity history
The registrant is a single continuous entity. Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. was incorporated as a Cayman Islands exempted company and registered with the SEC under CIK 0001706946; following the business combination the same registrant was renamed Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. The EDGAR submissions record shows the former name in effect from May 25, 2017 to October 23, 2019.
[S007, formerNames]This continuity is why the transaction is analysed as one event. The securities that public investors bought in 2017 were securities of the SPAC; the same securities converted into securities of the operating company at closing, on a one-for-one basis for Class A ordinary shares.
[S006, Introductory Note]Stage one: the SPAC initial public offering
Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. sold units at $10.00 per unit in an offering that closed in September 2017. The prospectus cover offered 60,000,000 units for $600,000,000, with an over-allotment option. Each unit comprised one Class A ordinary share and one-third of one redeemable warrant, each whole warrant exercisable at $11.50 per share.
[S001, cover page] [S006, Introductory Note]Determining the final offering size
The completion Form 8-K reports 30,999,997 warrants outstanding immediately after the transactions. Because public warrants were issued at one-third per unit and the sponsor separately purchased 8,000,000 private placement warrants, that total is consistent with 69,000,000 units having been sold, that is, with the 9,000,000-unit over-allotment option exercised in full. The arithmetic implies 31,000,000 warrants; the three-warrant difference reflects rounding of fractional warrants.
[C009] [S006, Introductory Note]This is an inference from the warrant count. The underwriting closing disclosure confirming the over-allotment exercise directly has not been reviewed, and that verification remains an open item.
Trust funding and the sponsor’s position
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Units sold, including full over-allotment [C009] | 69,000,000 |
| Gross proceeds placed in trust | $690,000,000 |
| Trust funding per public share [C001] | $10.00 |
| Founder shares subscribed by the sponsor | 14,375,000, later increased by share capitalization |
| Aggregate founder share subscription price | $25,000 |
| Private placement warrants purchased by the sponsor | 8,000,000 at $1.50 each, $12,000,000 in aggregate |
| Deferred underwriting commissions [S001, cover page footnotes] | $24,150,000 if the over-allotment was exercised in full |
Source. Terms as stated in the initial public offering prospectus. [S001, Summary of the Prospectus — The Offering]
The prospectus states that the initial shareholders would collectively own 20% of the issued and outstanding shares after the offering. Sized against a fully exercised over-allotment, that corresponds to 17,250,000 founder shares, or 25% of the public share count.
[S001, Summary of the Prospectus — The Offering] [C003]Deferred underwriting commissions were 3.5% of gross IPO proceeds and were payable only on completion of a business combination. [C002]
Stage two: the business combination
The Merger Agreement was dated July 9, 2019 and was amended on October 2, 2019. The counterparties were Vieco 10 Limited, a British Virgin Islands company, and Vieco USA, Inc., a Delaware subsidiary of Vieco 10. [S005, Item 5.07]
At the extraordinary general meeting, holders of 61,352,156 ordinary shares were represented in person or by proxy, constituting 74.39% of the shares outstanding and entitled to vote as of the September 16, 2019 record date. Shareholders approved the business combination.
[S005, Item 5.07]The transaction closed on October 25, 2019, the date of earliest event reported in the completion Form 8-K. [S006, cover page and Introductory Note]
Redemptions
The completion Form 8-K does not state redemptions. The fiscal 2019 Form 10-K does. Holders of 15,877,288 Class A public shares exercised redemption rights, in two tranches:
| Date | Shares | Approximate price | Aggregate |
|---|---|---|---|
| September 9, 2019 | 3,771,178 | $10.37 | $39,100,000 |
| October 23, 2019 | 12,106,110 | $10.39 | $125,700,000 |
| Total [C019] | 15,877,288 | — | $164,800,000 |
Source. Tranches as reported in the Business Combination note to the fiscal 2019 annual report; the totals are summed on this site. The completion Form 8-K does not state redemptions. [S011, Business Combination note]
The September tranche preceded the October shareholder vote, so a redemption figure taken only from the vote date would understate the total by 3,771,178 shares.
That is 23.0% of the 69,000,000 public shares, leaving approximately $525.2 million of the $690.0 million trust.
[C018] [C020]The two-tranche structure is worth noting for anyone reading redemption data across de-SPACs. The September tranche preceded the October shareholder vote, so a redemption figure taken only from the vote date would understate the total by 3,771,178 shares.
[S011, Business Combination note]Consideration
All outstanding equity of the Virgin Galactic companies was cancelled in exchange for the right to receive 130,000,000 shares of Virgin Galactic Holdings common stock at a deemed value of $10.00 per share, an aggregate merger consideration of $1.3 billion.
[S006, Introductory Note] [C011]The deemed value is a contractual reference price used to denominate the share consideration. It is not a market price, and it is not evidence that the operating businesses were worth $1.3 billion.
Concurrent transactions at closing
Three transactions occurred alongside the merger, and they are economically distinct from one another:
| Event | Cash inflow / (outflow) | Recipient or use | Classification | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SPAC IPO gross proceeds placed in trust | $690,000,000 | Trust account for the benefit of public shareholders | reported | [S001] |
| Redemptions paid to public shareholders electing redemption | ($164,800,000) | Redeeming public shareholders | reported | [S011] |
| Private placement warrants purchased by sponsor | $12,000,000 | Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. working capital and trust | reported | [S001] |
| Founder shares subscribed by sponsor | $25,000 | Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. | reported | [S001] |
| Deferred underwriting commissions payable at business combination | ($24,150,000) | Underwriters | reported | [S001] |
| Secondary purchase of shares from Vieco US by SCH's chief executive officer | $100,000,000 | Vieco US (selling shareholder) — no proceeds to the company | reported | [S006] |
| Issuance of new shares to an affiliate of The Boeing Company | $20,000,000 | Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. | reported | [S006] |
Two features of that table warrant comment.
The purchase by SCH’s chief executive officer was a secondary purchase. Chamath Palihapitiya, the chief executive officer of SCH, purchased 10,000,000 shares of Virgin Galactic Holdings common stock from Vieco US at $10.00 per share in cash, concurrently with the mergers, under a purchase agreement supplemented by an Assignment, Consent and Waiver Agreement dated October 2, 2019. The consideration was paid to Vieco US as selling shareholder. The company received no proceeds from that purchase. [S006, Introductory Note] [C012]
The issuance to an affiliate of The Boeing Company was primary. Immediately following consummation, an affiliate of Boeing purchased 1,924,402 newly issued shares for aggregate consideration of $20.0 million, in a transaction exempt from registration under Section 4(a)(2). The implied price was $10.39 per share, above the $10.00 deemed value used for the merger consideration.
[S006, Item 3.02 Unregistered Sales of Equity Securities] [C010]Capitalization at closing
Immediately after giving effect to the transactions, the repurchase, the purchase agreement transactions and the Boeing issuance, there were 195,587,552 shares of common stock and 30,999,997 warrants outstanding. [S006, Introductory Note]
The share reserve under the 2019 Plan, inclusive of shares subject to options granted under it, was 21,205,644. [S006, Item 5.02]
Sponsor economics
The sponsor’s position is separable into the two instruments it acquired and the outcome at conversion.
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Founder share subscription | $25,000 |
| Private placement warrant purchase | $12,000,000 |
| Total sponsor cash at risk [C006] | $12,025,000 |
| Shares received by the sponsor on conversion [S006, Introductory Note] | 15,750,000 |
| Value of those shares at the $10.00 deemed price [C005] | $157,500,000 |
| Ratio of converted share value to cash at risk [C007] | 13.10x |
| Sponsor shares as a percentage of shares outstanding at closing [C008] | 8.05% |
Source. Subscription amounts as stated in the offering prospectus and the converted share count as reported in the completion Form 8-K; the value at the deemed price and both ratios are computed on this site. The $10.00 is a deemed value, not a market price, and the shares were subject to lock-up at closing. [S001, Summary of the Prospectus — The Offering]
Two observations follow directly from these figures.
First, the founder shares and the private placement warrants are different instruments with different risk profiles. The $25,000 founder share subscription was nominal relative to the value of the shares it converted into; the $12,000,000 warrant purchase was capital that would have been lost had no business combination been completed. Presenting the promote against the $25,000 alone overstates the asymmetry, and presenting it against the combined $12,025,000 is the more complete comparison. Both are given above.
Second, the sponsor received 15,750,000 shares on conversion, not the 17,250,000 founder shares implied by a fully exercised over-allotment. [S006, Introductory Note] The proxy reconciles the difference. Its ownership tables state that shares held by the sponsor exclude the 1,500,000 shares underlying the Director RSU Awards, restricted stock units granted to certain members of the SCH board in connection with the business combination.
[S010, Ownership of VGH, Inc. following the Business Combination, footnote: shares held by the Sponsor exclude the 1,500,000 shares underlying the Director RSU Awards] [C037]The beneficial ownership table allocates that 1,500,000 across four SCH directors, each footnoted as shares underlying the Director RSU Awards.
[S010, Beneficial Ownership of Securities: SCH Sponsor Corp. 17,250,000 shares pre-combination and 15,750,000 post-combination, with footnote 12 attributing 1,500,000 to the Director RSU Awards]| Recipient | Shares |
|---|---|
| Adam Bain | 1,200,000 |
| Andrea Wong | 100,000 |
| Jacqueline D. Reses | 100,000 |
| James Ryans | 100,000 |
| Total [C038] | 1,500,000 |
Source. Transfers as disclosed in the offering prospectus; the total is summed on this site. [S001, Summary of the Prospectus — The Offering]
The awards vest at closing and settle into shares on a date selected by the company between January 1 and December 31 of the year following closing, so they are outside the 15,750,000 reported at closing. Grant and vesting were conditioned on completion of the business combination, shareholder approval of the 2019 Plan and continued board service through closing.
[S010, Definitions: Director RSU Awards are restricted stock units covering 1,500,000 shares of VGH, Inc. common stock to be granted to certain members of the SCH board]The founder share count itself is the result of two prior adjustments. The sponsor bought 14,375,000 Class B ordinary shares for $25,000 in May 2017, after a surrender of shares for no value on May 18, 2017 and a share capitalization on August 23, 2017. A pro rata share capitalization on September 13, 2017 raised the count to 17,250,000 to hold the sponsor at 20% of shares outstanding on completion of the IPO.
[S010, Certain Relationships and Related Person Transactions, Founder Shares: 14,375,000 shares for $25,000 in May 2017, increased to 17,250,000 by the pro rata share capitalization of September 13, 2017]Dilution of the public SPAC shareholder
A public shareholder who subscribed at $10.00 per unit held one share backed by $10.00 in trust before the combination. The same share was one of 195,587,552 outstanding immediately after it.
[C001] [S006, Introductory Note]| Instrument | Shares |
|---|---|
| Shares outstanding at closing [S006, Introductory Note] | 195,587,552 |
| Warrants exercisable at $11.50, of which 8,000,000 privately placed [S006, Introductory Note: 30,999,997 warrants outstanding at closing, exercisable at $11.50] | 30,999,997 |
| 2019 Incentive Award Plan reserve [S006, Item 5.02: 21,205,644 shares reserved under the 2019 Incentive Award Plan] | 21,205,644 |
| Fully diluted [C039] | 247,793,193 |
Source. Component counts as reported in the completion Form 8-K; the total is summed on this site. Warrants and the plan reserve are counted in full, without treasury-method netting.
Basic shares outstanding at closing were 0.7893 times the fully diluted count. [C040] Exercising every warrant would deliver $356,499,966 to the company, since the warrants are exercisable for cash at $11.50. [C041]
Three points of method. The 1,500,000 shares underlying the Director RSU Awards are inside the 2019 Plan reserve and are not added again. Warrants become exercisable only if the share price supports it, so treating them as certain dilution overstates the effect at any price below $11.50. And the $24,150,000 of deferred underwriting commissions payable on completion is a cash cost borne after the trust was released, so it reduces cash rather than the share count.
[S001, cover page footnotes]Subsequent trading performance
| Measurement | Date | Close | Return from $10.00 | Benchmark | Relative | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| At closing | October 25, 2019 | $11.79 | 17.9% | 0.0% | 17.9% | [S008] |
| One month | November 25, 2019 | $7.22 | (27.8)% | 3.7% | (31.5)% | [S008] |
| Three months | January 27, 2020 | $17.44 | 74.4% | 7.3% | 67.1% | [S008] |
| Six months | April 27, 2020 | $17.89 | 78.9% | (4.8)% | 83.7% | [S008] |
| Twelve months | October 26, 2020 | $18.32 | 83.2% | 12.5% | 70.7% | [S008] |
Prices are unadjusted official closing prices unless a distribution or split requires adjusted prices. Where a target date is not a trading day, the next trading day is used.
Prices are stated as traded. Virgin Galactic effected a 1-for-20 reverse stock split on June 17, 2024, so consumer price series restate the whole pre-split history: the same October 25, 2019 close appears as $235.80 in an unadjusted lookup against the $11.79 at which the shares actually changed hands. Every figure above reverses that factor. The split is disclosed below. [S008, split event 2024-06-17]
The shares closed the first post-combination session at $11.79, 17.9% above the $10.00 trust value per public share, and were 83.2% above it twelve months later. Over the same twelve months the S&P 500 returned 12.5%. [S008, daily closing series]
Outcome to date
The table above measures the first twelve months. The combination closed six years and nine months before this analysis date, so the first year is a small part of the record. The figures below run to the close on July 31, 2026, the latest completed session.
[S008, daily closing series]Prices in this section are on the split-adjusted basis throughout, because a continuous holder’s return has to be measured on one share basis across the June 2024 reverse split. On that basis the $10.00 paid for one pre-split share corresponds to an entry price of $200.00, and the October 25, 2019 close of $11.79 corresponds to $235.80.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Close, July 31, 2026 [S008, daily closing series] | $2.55 |
| Highest close since the combination [S008, daily closing series] | $1,188.20 on February 11, 2021 |
| Decline from that high [C045] | (99.79%) |
| Return to a public SPAC shareholder who did not redeem [C042] | (98.73%) |
| Return from the first post-combination close [C043] | (98.92%) |
| Compound annual return over 6.77 years [C044] | (47.52%) |
| S&P 500 over the same period [S008, S&P 500 daily closing series] | +147.79% |
Source. Returns computed on this site from the daily closing series, restated throughout to the post-split basis so the 1-for-20 reverse split of June 17, 2024 does not appear as a price movement.
The redemption decision
A public SPAC shareholder faced a binary choice at the vote: redeem at approximately $10.00 plus interest, or hold. Holders of 15,877,288 shares redeemed, 23.01% of the public float. [C018] The two branches can now be valued.
| $10.00 at the vote | Value on July 31, 2026 |
|---|---|
| Redeemed and invested in the S&P 500 [C046] | $24.78 |
| Left in the shares [C047] | $0.13 |
| Ratio [C048] | 194.35 times |
Source. Computed on this site. The redemption branch assumes the $10.00 was reinvested in the index on the redemption date and held; the holding branch assumes the share was kept throughout. Neither branch charges tax or transaction costs.
The comparison is not a claim that redeeming holders bought the index. It states what the redemption right was worth against the passive alternative, which is the benchmark the decision is naturally measured against. On this transaction the 23.01% who redeemed preserved roughly 194 times what the 77% who stayed retained per share.
Dilution since closing
| Shares | |
|---|---|
| Outstanding at closing, October 25, 2019 [S006, Introductory Note] | 195,587,552 |
| Outstanding at May 7, 2026, restated to the pre-split basis [C049] | 2,013,668,760 |
| Growth [C050] | +929.55% |
Source. The current count is the cover page of the most recent quarterly report, multiplied by twenty so that it is stated on the same pre-split basis as the closing count. Presented this way the growth is share issuance alone, with the reverse split removed. [S015, Cover page: shares of common stock outstanding at May 7, 2026]
The share count is stated on the closing-date basis so the two are comparable: 100,683,438 shares outstanding today, multiplied by twenty to reverse the split. A holder who neither redeemed nor sold holds the same shares and a tenth of the proportional interest.
The dilution and the price decline are separate effects that compound. The price fell 98.73% per share while the share count grew tenfold, so the equity value attributable to the shares outstanding at closing fell further than the per-share figure alone indicates.
What funded the burn
The tenfold growth in the share count has a single explanation, and it is visible in the cash flow statements.
| 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash used in operating activities [C055] | (240.1) | (352.7) | (448.2) | (380.2) | (230.8) | (233.2) | (1,885.2) |
| Cash provided by financing activities [C056] | 114.1 | 134.3 | 475.4 | 459 | 489.4 | 436.6 | 2,108.9 |
Source. Annual figures as tagged by the issuer in its XBRL company facts; the totals are summed on this site. [S009, FY2020-FY2025 net cash used in operating activities and net cash provided by financing activities, as reported]
Financing inflows over the six years were 1.1186 times the operating outflows. [C057] The company raised 3.9560 times the $533,075,000 the transaction itself delivered.
[C058]The dilution is therefore the funding mechanism, not a side effect of it. Cash at year end fell only from $665.9 million in 2020 to $144.7 million in 2025 while operations consumed $1,885.2 million, because equity issuance replaced almost all of what operations consumed.
This is also the clearest measure of how the projection performed. The proxy projected EBITDA turning positive in 2021 and cumulative capital expenditure of $225 million over 2020 through 2023, which together describe a business that funds itself from operations after the first year. The reported outcome is $1,885.2 million of cash consumed by operations over six years, met by continuous recourse to the equity market.
Market capitalization against the cash the transaction delivered
The combined company retained $533,075,000 of cash at closing after redemptions, deferred underwriting and the concurrent equity. Its equity is now worth $256,742,762, which is 0.4816 times that. [C051] [C052]
That comparison is a valuation observation, not a cash-tracing one. It does not assert that the closing cash was consumed, and the company has raised further capital since, which the share count growth above reflects. What it states is that the market now values the whole equity below half the cash the transaction placed on the balance sheet.
Post-closing operating results
The condensed statements below are the reported figures on the company’s current basis, traced per line to the filing each came from. They start with the year of the combination and run to the most recent completed year.
| FY2025 | FY2024 | FY2023 | FY2022 | FY2021 | FY2020 | FY2019 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 1,544 | 7,036 | 6,800 | 2,312 | 3,292 | 238 | 3,781 |
| Cost of revenue | 72,769 | 90,024 | 50,538 | 1,906 | 272 | 173 | 2,004 |
| Gross profit | — | — | — | — | 3,020 | 65 | 1,777 |
| Operating expenses | 286,887 | 383,665 | 538,309 | 502,296 | 322,827 | 275,522 | — |
| Operating income (loss) | (285,343) | (376,629) | (531,509) | (499,984) | (319,535) | (275,284) | (213,262) |
| Income (loss) before income taxes | (278,855) | (346,666) | (501,884) | (499,554) | (352,820) | (644,881) | (215,053) |
| Income tax expense (benefit) | 52 | 74 | 453 | 598 | 79 | 6 | 62 |
| Net income (loss) | (278,907) | (346,740) | (502,337) | (500,152) | (352,899) | (644,887) | (215,115) |
Source. Reproduced from the issuer's reported figures, traced per line to accessions 0001706946-22-000035, 0001706946-23-000016, 0001706946-24-000039, 0001706946-25-000038, 0001706946-26-000019. [S009, us-gaap RevenueFromContractWithCustomerExcludingAssessedTax, CostOfRevenue, GrossProfit, CostsAndExpenses, OperatingIncomeLoss, IncomeLossFromContinuingOperationsBeforeIncomeTaxesExtraordinaryItemsNoncontrollingInterest, IncomeTaxExpenseBenefit, NetIncomeLoss, periods ending 2019-12-31 through 2025-12-31]
As most recently reported. Where a period was re-presented in a later filing, the later figure is shown and the provenance names the filing it came from.
Condensed to the principal subtotal lines. The complete statement is longer, and a line shown as blank for a period was not separately reported for that period.
| FY2025 | FY2024 | FY2023 | FY2022 | FY2021 | FY2020 | FY2019 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash and cash equivalents | 144,727 | 178,605 | 216,799 | 302,291 | 524,481 | 665,924 | 480,443 |
| Total current assets | 372,898 | 627,936 | 950,829 | 1,001,614 | 678,592 | 727,927 | 541,709 |
| Operating lease right-of-use assets | 36,882 | 58,039 | 58,526 | 48,463 | 35,486 | 19,555 | 16,632 |
| Total assets | 803,179 | 961,225 | 1,179,517 | 1,139,938 | 1,068,834 | 803,990 | 605,546 |
| Total current liabilities | 209,323 | 150,010 | 185,660 | 184,053 | 131,523 | 115,021 | 115,845 |
| Operating lease liabilities | 50,754 | 72,998 | 73,214 | 59,665 | 42,169 | 26,532 | 24,221 |
| Total liabilities | 529,215 | 638,945 | 674,041 | 659,715 | 174,570 | 276,912 | 262,316 |
| Total stockholders' equity (deficit) | 273,964 | 322,280 | 505,476 | 480,223 | 894,264 | 527,078 | 343,230 |
Source. Reproduced from the issuer's reported figures, traced per line to accessions 0001706946-21-000056, 0001706946-22-000035, 0001706946-23-000016, 0001706946-24-000039, 0001706946-25-000038, 0001706946-26-000019, 0001706946-26-000068. [S009, us-gaap CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue, AssetsCurrent, OperatingLeaseRightOfUseAsset, Assets, LiabilitiesCurrent, OperatingLeaseLiability, Liabilities, StockholdersEquity, periods ending 2019-12-31 through 2025-12-31]
Assets and liabilities are shown at the subtotal level. Operating lease balances are listed separately because they are excluded from funded debt in the valuation sections on this site.
| $ in millions | FY2025 | FY2024 | FY2023 | FY2022 | FY2021 | FY2020 | FY2019 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net revenue | 1.5 | 7.0 | 6.8 | 2.3 | 3.3 | 0.2 | 3.8 |
| Operating income | -285.3 | -376.6 | -531.5 | -500.0 | -319.5 | -275.3 | -213.3 |
| Net income | -278.9 | -346.7 | -502.3 | -500.2 | -352.9 | -644.9 | -215.1 |
| Cash | 144.7 | 178.6 | 216.8 | 302.3 | 524.5 | 665.9 | 480.4 |
| Stockholders equity | 274.0 | 322.3 | 505.5 | 480.2 | 894.3 | 527.1 | 343.2 |
| Operating cash flow | -240.1 | -352.7 | -448.2 | -380.2 | -230.8 | -233.2 | — |
| Financing cash flow | 114.1 | 134.3 | 475.4 | 459.0 | 489.4 | 436.6 | — |
| Cost of revenue | — | — | 50.5 | 1.9 | 0.3 | 0.2 | — |
| Depreciation amortization | — | — | 13.4 | 11.1 | 11.5 | 9.8 | — |
| Capital expenditure | — | — | 44.3 | 16.5 | 4.6 | 17.2 | — |
Reported revenue did not exceed $7.1 million in any year from 2019 through 2025, against the $1.3 billion aggregate merger consideration at which the operating businesses were acquired, and the company reported a net loss in every one of those years. [S009, FY2019-FY2025 revenue and net income]
Two figures in the table are restatements. Net loss for 2019 was restated from $210,935,000 to $215,115,000, and for 2020 from $273,035,000 to $644,887,000. The XBRL record preserves both the original and revised values. [S009, FY2019 and FY2020 net income, prior reports]
The cause is the SPAC warrant reclassification. On April 12, 2021 the Acting Director of the SEC’s Division of Corporation Finance and the Acting Chief Accountant issued a Staff Statement on accounting for warrants issued by SPACs. It addressed settlement terms and tender-offer provisions of the kind in the SCH warrants, and warrant instruments that do not meet the criteria to be considered indexed to an entity’s own stock. The company filed an amended annual report on May 10, 2021 restating the years ended December 31, 2020 and 2019 and the quarters from December 31, 2019 through December 31, 2020. [S012, Explanatory Note, Background of Restatement]
The restatement moved the warrants from equity to liabilities, which brings their fair-value remeasurement through earnings. It changes reported net loss without changing cash, and it affected a large number of de-SPACs in the same period.
Projected financial information in the proxy, and what followed
The definitive proxy statement/prospectus disclosed projections that management of the VG Companies prepared and provided to SCH, covering 2020 through 2023. The projections assume commercial operations commencing in June 2020.
[S010, Projected Financial Information, p. 129]| 2020E | 2021E | 2022E | 2023E | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total revenue | 31 | 210 | 398 | 590 |
| Gross profit | 4 | 131 | 285 | 431 |
| EBITDA | (104) | 12 | 146 | 274 |
| Capital expenditures | (52) | (59) | (60) | (54) |
Source. Reproduced from the projections disclosed in the proxy. [S010, Projected Financial Information, p. 129]
The stated operational assumptions were five vehicles in service by 2023, monthly flight rates reaching approximately five flights per vehicle per month by 2022, and five or six customers per flight by 2021. [S010, Projected Financial Information, p. 129]
Revenue against projection
| Year | Projected | Reported | Reported as a percentage of projection |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 [C013] | 31 | 0.24 | 0.77% |
| 2021 [C014] | 210 | 3.29 | 1.57% |
| 2022 [C015] | 398 | 2.31 | 0.58% |
| 2023 [C016] | 590 | 6.8 | 1.15% |
| Cumulative [C017] | 1,229 | 12.64 | 1.03% |
Source. Projections from the proxy; reported revenue from the company's XBRL company facts. Percentages computed on this site. [S010, Projected Financial Information, p. 129] [S009, FY2020-FY2023 revenue]
Reported revenue was below 2% of projection in each of the four years. Cumulative reported revenue for 2020 through 2023 was $12.6 million against a cumulative projection of $1,229 million.
[S009, FY2020-FY2023 revenue] [C017]The projections were conditioned on a June 2020 commencement of commercial operations. Establishing when commercial service actually began, and reconciling that date to the projection’s premise, is required before the variance can be attributed and is an open item.
Gross profit, EBITDA and capital expenditure against projection
The proxy projects three lines besides revenue. None of them is defined in the proxy, and the proxy reconciles none of them to a GAAP measure. Each comparison below therefore states the basis on which the reported figure is constructed.
Gross profit is revenue less cost of revenue as reported.
[S009, FY2020-FY2023 revenue and cost of revenue]| 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | Cumulative | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Projected gross profit [S010, Projected Financial Information, p. 129] | 4 | 131 | 285 | 431 | 851 |
| Reported revenue | 0.24 | 3.29 | 2.31 | 6.8 | 12.64 |
| Reported cost of revenue | 0.17 | 0.27 | 1.91 | 50.54 | 52.89 |
| Reported gross profit [C031] [C032] [C033] [C034] [C027] | 0.07 | 3.02 | 0.41 | (43.74) | (40.25) |
Source. Reported revenue and cost of revenue from the company's XBRL company facts; gross profit is revenue less cost of revenue, computed on this site because the issuer does not tag a gross profit line for these years. [S009, FY2020-FY2023 revenue and cost of revenue]
Cumulative reported gross profit was $891.2 million below the cumulative projection. [C028] Cost of revenue exceeded revenue in 2023, when reported cost of revenue was $50.5 million against revenue of $6.8 million, so reported gross profit for that year is negative.
[S009, FY2023 revenue and cost of revenue]EBITDA is stated here as operating loss plus depreciation, depletion and amortization. That basis excludes the warrant fair-value remeasurement, so it is unaffected by the 2021 restatement described above, which changed net loss and left operating loss unchanged.
| 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | Cumulative | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Projected EBITDA [S010, Projected Financial Information, p. 129] | (104) | 12 | 146 | 274 | 328 |
| Reported operating loss [C035] | (275.3) | (319.5) | (500) | (531.5) | (1,626.3) |
| Add depreciation and amortization [C036] | 9.8 | 11.5 | 11.1 | 13.4 | 45.8 |
| EBITDA on this basis [C021] [C022] [C023] [C024] [C025] | (265.5) | (308) | (488.9) | (518.1) | (1,580.5) |
Source. The issuer reports no EBITDA, so the measure is constructed here as operating loss plus depreciation and amortization, both as tagged in the company's XBRL company facts. The proxy does not state how the projected figure was built, so the two lines may not be constructed identically. [S009, FY2020-FY2023 operating income (loss) and depreciation, depletion and amortization]
Cumulative EBITDA on this basis was $1,908.5 million below the cumulative projection. [C026] The projection has EBITDA turning positive in 2021; the reported measure is negative in every year and the annual loss widens across the period.
Capital expenditure is payments to acquire property, plant and equipment as reported in the statements of cash flows. [S009, FY2020-FY2023 payments to acquire property, plant and equipment]
| 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | Cumulative | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Projected capital expenditure [S010, Projected Financial Information, p. 129] | 52 | 59 | 60 | 54 | 225 |
| Reported capital expenditure [C029] | 17.2 | 4.6 | 16.5 | 44.3 | 82.6 |
Source. Reported capital expenditure as tagged by the issuer in its XBRL company facts; the cumulative figures are summed on this site. The projection is stated as a negative in the proxy and is shown here as a positive outflow so the two lines compare directly. [S009, FY2020-FY2023 payments to acquire property, plant and equipment]
Reported capital expenditure was 36.73% of the cumulative projection. [C030] Spending below plan is consistent with the projection’s premise, commercial operations from June 2020, not being met, since the projected outlay supports a fleet of five vehicles by 2023.
SEC review of the Form S-4
The registration statement was filed on August 7, 2019 and amended four times before it was declared effective. The staff of the Division of Corporation Finance issued two comment letters, dated September 3 and September 23, 2019, and the registrant responded to each on filing the next amendment. [S007] The response letters set out each staff comment in full, so the substance of the review is on the public record.
| Date | Filing |
|---|---|
| 2019-08-07 | Form S-4 as filed |
| 2019-09-03 | Staff comment letter |
| 2019-09-12 | Response letter and Amendment No. 1 |
| 2019-09-23 | Staff comment letter |
| 2019-09-25 | Response letter and Amendment No. 2 |
| 2019-10-03 | Amendment No. 3 |
| 2019-10-08 | Amendment No. 4 and request for acceleration of effectiveness |
Source. Filing dates from the registrant's EDGAR submissions record. The staff comment letters are the UPLOAD entries; the response letters quote each comment before answering it. [S007, Filing history for CIK 0001706946: S-4 and S-4/A filing dates, UPLOAD and CORRESP entries between August 7 and October 8, 2019]
Two comments bear directly on the projections.
The first asked the registrant to disclose and quantify the material assumptions underlying the projections, noting that the investor presentation furnished on Form 8-K in July 2019 contained assumptions as to numbers of vehicles, total flights and passengers that appeared to underlie the revenue projections but were absent from the registration statement. The registrant revised its disclosure in response.
[S013, Comment 6 and response: disclose and quantify the material assumptions underlying the projections]The vehicle, flight-rate and passenger assumptions set out earlier on this page are therefore disclosure the staff required, not disclosure the registrant volunteered.
The second went to the valuation. The staff asked the registrant to disclose the cash flow projections on which SCH management had based its valuation of the VG Companies. The registrant replied that the term “aggregate potential cash flows” in its disclosure referred to a comparison of projected EBITDA against projected capital expenditures, and that no other material projections of cash flow were used in evaluating the VG Companies.
[S014, Comment 1 and response: the aggregate potential cash flows referenced in the valuation discussion were a comparison of projected EBITDA to projected capital expenditures, and no other material cash flow projections were used]SCH’s valuation was therefore not a discounted cash flow analysis. Both inputs to the comparison it did use are covered by the projection variance set out above: reported EBITDA on the stated basis was negative in every year against a projection turning positive in 2021, and reported capital expenditure was 36.73% of projection.
The staff also asked for the registrant’s conclusions about, and the steps taken to address, the causes of the October 31, 2014 in-flight incident, and for an estimate of the capital required to expand the fleet to five SpaceShipTwo vehicles by the end of 2023. Both produced added disclosure.
[S013, Comment 11 and response: estimate of the capital required to expand the fleet to five SpaceShipTwo vehicles by the end of 2023]Satisfaction of the 80% test
The Cayman constitutional documents required that any business acquired by SCH have a fair market value of at least 80% of the trust balance at the time a definitive agreement was executed. The board determined the requirement was met. The proxy records that the board considered it appropriate to base that valuation in part on qualitative factors, naming management strength and depth, competitive positioning, customer relationships and technical skills, alongside quantitative factors.
[S010, Satisfaction of 80% Test, p. 130]The 80% threshold tests fair market value at the time the definitive agreement was executed.
No third party valuation was obtained. The proxy states that neither the SCH board of directors nor any committee of it obtained one in determining whether to pursue the business combination, and that neither was required to obtain an opinion from an independent investment banking or accounting firm that the price being paid for the VG Companies was fair from a financial point of view.
[S010, Risk Factors: neither the SCH board nor any committee obtained a third party valuation in determining whether to pursue the Business Combination]The valuation basis the board did use is the projected EBITDA against projected capital expenditure comparison described in the SEC review section above.
Matters not yet examined
The following are material to a complete analysis and are not addressed above.
Transaction expenses other than the deferred underwriting commissions are not disclosed in the filings reviewed, so a complete net-cash reconciliation is not yet possible and none is asserted.
The disposition of shares by the sponsor and by the selling shareholder is not established. Neither appears in the 2026 definitive proxy statement, which names every holder of more than 5% and every director and executive officer, so both are below that threshold; the proxy does not state when or at what prices they went below it. The Forms 4 and Schedules 13D and 13G would be needed.
The capital raises behind the tenfold growth in the share count since closing are not itemised here. The outcome of the 30,999,997 warrants, which exercise at $11.50 against a split-adjusted price far below it, is likewise not established.
Open items and limitations
This page is published with the following work outstanding. Each item is a known gap, not a discovered error.
- The proxy does not define the EBITDA measure it projects or reconcile it to a GAAP measure, so the comparison above uses operating loss plus depreciation and amortization and is a site construction, not the issuer's measure.
Source register
Every citation marker on this page resolves to a row below. Pinpoint sections identify where in the document the supporting information appears.
| ID | Document | Form | Date | Accession | Pinpoint sections used |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
S001 | Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. final prospectus for its initial public offering | 424B4 | Filed September 15, 2017 | 0001144204-17-048312 |
|
S002 | Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. registration statement | S-1 | Filed August 23, 2017 | 0001144204-17-044783 |
|
S003 | Exchange Act registration of units, Class A ordinary shares and warrants | 8-A12B | Filed September 12, 2017 | 0001144204-17-047526 |
|
S004 | Registration statement on Form S-4 for the proposed business combination | S-4 | Filed August 7, 2019 | 0001193125-19-215509 |
|
S005 | Current report announcing the results of the extraordinary general meeting | 8-K | Filed October 23, 2019 | 0001193125-19-272712 |
|
S006 | Current report on the completion of the business combination | 8-K | Filed October 29, 2019 | 0001193125-19-276659 |
|
S007 | EDGAR company submissions record for CIK 0001706946 U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission | EDGAR index | Filed August 1, 2026 | — |
|
S008 | SPCE and S&P 500 daily closing price series Yahoo Finance | Market-data table | Accessed August 1, 2026 | — |
|
S009 | SEC XBRL company facts for CIK 0001706946 (Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc) U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission | XBRL company facts | Accessed August 1, 2026 | — |
|
S010 | Definitive proxy statement/prospectus for the business combination | DEFM14A | Filed October 10, 2019 | 0001193125-19-265333 |
|
S011 | Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. annual report for the year ended December 31, 2019 | 10-K | Filed February 28, 2020 | 0001628280-20-002471 |
|
S012 | Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. amendment no. 2 to the fiscal 2020 annual report | 10-K/A | Filed May 10, 2021 | 0001706946-21-000056 |
|
S013 | Response of Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. to SEC staff comments on the Form S-4, filed with Amendment No. 1 | CORRESP | Filed September 12, 2019 | 0001193125-19-244156 |
|
S014 | Response of Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp. to SEC staff comments on Amendment No. 1 to the Form S-4, filed with Amendment No. 2 | CORRESP | Filed September 25, 2019 | 0001193125-19-254829 |
|
S015 | Virgin Galactic Holdings, Inc. quarterly report for the period ended March 31, 2026 | 10-Q | Filed May 14, 2026 | 0001706946-26-000068 |
|
Calculation register
These values are computed by this site, not reported by the issuer. Each row shows the formula, the source of every input and the arithmetic expression that a validator re-evaluates on each build.
| ID | Calculation | Formula | Inputs | Result | Recalculated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
C001 | Trust funding per public share | gross proceeds placed in trust / units sold 690000000 / 69000000 | S001 | $10 | August 1, 2026 |
C002 | Deferred underwriting as a percentage of gross IPO proceeds | deferred underwriting commissions / gross proceeds 24150000 / 690000000 | S001 | 3.50% | August 1, 2026 |
C003 | Founder shares implied by a fully exercised over-allotment Founder shares were sized at 20% of post-IPO issued shares, equivalent to 25% of public shares. | units sold x 25% 69000000 * 0.25 | S001 , S006 | 17,250,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C004 | Sponsor cost per founder share | aggregate founder share price / founder shares 25000 / 17250000 | S001 | $0 | August 1, 2026 |
C005 | Value of the sponsor's converted shares at the deemed transaction price | shares received on conversion x $10.00 deemed value 15750000 * 10.00 | S006 | $157,500,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C006 | Sponsor cash at risk in the SPAC | founder share subscription + private placement warrant purchase 25000 + 12000000 | S001 | $12,025,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C007 | Ratio of converted share value to sponsor cash at risk | value of converted shares / sponsor cash at risk 157500000 / 12025000 | C005 , C006 | 13.10x | August 1, 2026 |
C008 | Sponsor converted shares as a percentage of shares outstanding after closing | shares received on conversion / shares outstanding after closing 15750000 / 195587552 | S006 | 8.05% | August 1, 2026 |
C009 | Total warrants implied by a fully exercised over-allotment The Form 8-K reports 30,999,997 warrants outstanding; the three-warrant difference reflects rounding of fractional warrants. The agreement of these figures is the basis for concluding the over-allotment was exercised in full. | units / 3 + private placement warrants 69000000 / 3 + 8000000 | S001 , S006 | 31,000,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C010 | Implied price per share of the issuance to an affiliate of The Boeing Company | aggregate consideration / shares issued 20000000 / 1924402 | S006 | $10 | August 1, 2026 |
C011 | Aggregate merger consideration at the deemed price | shares issued to the VG Companies x $10.00 deemed value 130000000 * 10.00 | S006 | $1,300,000,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C012 | Secondary purchase by SCH's chief executive officer Paid to Vieco US as selling shareholder; the company received no proceeds from this purchase. | shares purchased x price per share 10000000 * 10.00 | S006 | $100,000,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C013 | 2020 revenue as a percentage of projection | reported revenue / projected revenue 0.238 / 31 | S010 , S009 | 0.77% | August 1, 2026 |
C014 | 2021 revenue as a percentage of projection | reported revenue / projected revenue 3.292 / 210 | S010 , S009 | 1.57% | August 1, 2026 |
C015 | 2022 revenue as a percentage of projection | reported revenue / projected revenue 2.312 / 398 | S010 , S009 | 0.58% | August 1, 2026 |
C016 | 2023 revenue as a percentage of projection | reported revenue / projected revenue 6.800 / 590 | S010 , S009 | 1.15% | August 1, 2026 |
C017 | Cumulative 2020-2023 revenue against cumulative projection | sum of reported revenue / sum of projected revenue (0.238 + 3.292 + 2.312 + 6.800) / (31 + 210 + 398 + 590) | S010 , S009 | 1.03% | August 1, 2026 |
C018 | Redemption rate | shares redeemed / units sold 15877288 / 69000000 | S011 , S001 | 23.01% | August 1, 2026 |
C019 | Aggregate redemption payment | tranche one + tranche two, as stated 39100000 + 125700000 | S011 | $164,800,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C020 | Trust cash remaining after redemptions | trust at IPO - aggregate redemption payment 690000000 - 164800000 | S001 , C019 | $525,200,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C021 | 2020 EBITDA from operations | operating loss + depreciation, depletion and amortization -275284000 + 9781000 | S009 | −$265,503,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C022 | 2021 EBITDA from operations | operating loss + depreciation, depletion and amortization -319535000 + 11518000 | S009 | −$308,017,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C023 | 2022 EBITDA from operations | operating loss + depreciation, depletion and amortization -499984000 + 11098000 | S009 | −$488,886,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C024 | 2023 EBITDA from operations | operating loss + depreciation, depletion and amortization -531509000 + 13369000 | S009 | −$518,140,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C025 | Cumulative 2020-2023 EBITDA from operations | sum of the four annual figures -265503000 + -308017000 + -488886000 + -518140000 | C021 , C022 , C023 , C024 | −$1,580,546,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C026 | Cumulative EBITDA shortfall against projection | cumulative reported EBITDA from operations - cumulative projected EBITDA -1580546000 - (-104000000 + 12000000 + 146000000 + 274000000) | C025 , S010 | −$1,908,546,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C027 | Cumulative 2020-2023 reported gross profit | sum of revenue less cost of revenue for each year (238000 - 173000) + (3292000 - 272000) + (2312000 - 1906000) + (6800000 - 50538000) | S009 | −$40,247,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C028 | Cumulative gross profit shortfall against projection | cumulative reported gross profit - cumulative projected gross profit -40247000 - (4000000 + 131000000 + 285000000 + 431000000) | C027 , S010 | −$891,247,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C029 | Cumulative 2020-2023 capital expenditure | sum of payments to acquire property, plant and equipment 17201000 + 4635000 + 16489000 + 44309000 | S009 | $82,634,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C030 | Cumulative capital expenditure as a percentage of projection | cumulative reported capital expenditure / cumulative projected capital expenditure 82634000 / (52000000 + 59000000 + 60000000 + 54000000) | C029 , S010 | 36.73% | August 1, 2026 |
C031 | 2020 reported gross profit | revenue - cost of revenue 238000 - 173000 | S009 | $65,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C032 | 2021 reported gross profit | revenue - cost of revenue 3292000 - 272000 | S009 | $3,020,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C033 | 2022 reported gross profit | revenue - cost of revenue 2312000 - 1906000 | S009 | $406,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C034 | 2023 reported gross profit | revenue - cost of revenue 6800000 - 50538000 | S009 | −$43,738,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C035 | Cumulative 2020-2023 operating loss | sum of reported operating loss -275284000 + -319535000 + -499984000 + -531509000 | S009 | −$1,626,312,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C036 | Cumulative 2020-2023 depreciation, depletion and amortization | sum of reported depreciation, depletion and amortization 9781000 + 11518000 + 11098000 + 13369000 | S009 | $45,766,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C037 | Sponsor shares after the Director RSU Award carve-out | founder shares - shares underlying the Director RSU Awards 17250000 - 1500000 | S001 , S010 | 15,750,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C038 | Director RSU Awards by recipient | sum of the four director allocations in the beneficial ownership table 1200000 + 100000 + 100000 + 100000 | S010 | 1,500,000 | August 1, 2026 |
C039 | Fully diluted shares outstanding at closing | basic shares + warrants + 2019 Plan reserve 195587552 + 30999997 + 21205644 | S006 | 247,793,193 | August 1, 2026 |
C040 | Basic shares as a share of fully diluted | basic shares / fully diluted shares 195587552 / 247793193 | S006 , C039 | 0.79x | August 1, 2026 |
C041 | Cash payable on exercise of all warrants | warrants x exercise price 30999997 * 11.50 | S006 , S001 | $356,499,966 | August 1, 2026 |
C042 | Return to a public SPAC shareholder who did not redeem, to July 31, 2026 | closing price on July 31, 2026 / the $10.00 subscription price, restated to the current share basis 2.55 / 200.0 - 1 | S008 | -98.72% | August 2, 2026 |
C043 | Return from the first post-combination close to July 31, 2026 | closing price on July 31, 2026 / first post-combination close, both on the split-adjusted basis 2.55 / 235.8 - 1 | S008 | -98.92% | August 2, 2026 |
C044 | Compound annual return to a public SPAC shareholder who did not redeem | (closing price / subscription price) raised to the reciprocal of the holding period in years, less one (2.55 / 200.0) ** (1 / 6.77) - 1 | S008 | -47.50% | August 2, 2026 |
C045 | Decline from the highest close since the combination | closing price on July 31, 2026 / highest close, both on the split-adjusted basis 2.55 / 1188.2 - 1 | S008 | -99.79% | August 2, 2026 |
C046 | Value on July 31, 2026 of $10.00 redeemed at the vote and invested in the S&P 500 | $10.00 x (S&P 500 level on July 31, 2026 / level on the closing date) 10.00 * (1 + 1.4779) | S008 | $25 | August 2, 2026 |
C047 | Value on July 31, 2026 of $10.00 left in the shares | $10.00 x (closing price on July 31, 2026 / the subscription price on the current share basis) 10.00 * 2.55 / 200.0 | S008 | $0 | August 2, 2026 |
C048 | Redeeming and holding the index against holding the shares | value of the redeemed alternative / value of the shares held 24.78 / 0.13 | C046 , C047 | 190.62x | August 2, 2026 |
C049 | Shares outstanding at the latest cover date, on the closing-date share basis | shares outstanding at the cover date x 20, restating to the pre-split basis on which the closing count was reported 100683438 * 20 | S015 | 2,013,668,760 | August 2, 2026 |
C050 | Growth in shares outstanding since the combination closed | latest shares outstanding on the closing-date basis / shares outstanding at closing, less one 2013668760 / 195587552 - 1 | C049 , S006 | 929.55% | August 2, 2026 |
C051 | Market capitalization at the July 31, 2026 close | shares outstanding at the latest cover date x closing price 100683438 * 2.55 | S015 , S008 | $256,742,767 | August 2, 2026 |
C052 | Market capitalization against the cash the combined company retained at closing | market capitalization / cash retained at closing 256742767 / 533075000 | C051 | 0.48x | August 2, 2026 |
C053 | Value at the July 31, 2026 close of the shares the sponsor received at conversion | shares received at conversion, on the current share basis, x closing price 15750000 / 20 * 2.55 | S006 , S008 | $2,008,125 | August 2, 2026 |
C054 | That value against the sponsor's cash at risk in the SPAC | value of the converted shares / sponsor cash at risk 2008125 / 12025000 | C053 , S001 | 0.17x | August 2, 2026 |
C055 | Cumulative cash used in operating activities, 2020 through 2025 | sum of each year as reported -233159000 + -230763000 + -380241000 + -448193000 + -352703000 + -240142000 | S009 | −$1,885,201,000 | August 2, 2026 |
C056 | Cumulative cash provided by financing activities, 2020 through 2025 | sum of each year as reported 436594000 + 489357000 + 459003000 + 475431000 + 134340000 + 114129000 | S009 | $2,108,854,000 | August 2, 2026 |
C057 | Financing raised against the operating burn | cumulative financing inflow / cumulative operating outflow 2108854000 / 1885201000 | C055 , C056 | 1.12x | August 2, 2026 |
C058 | Financing raised against the cash the transaction delivered | cumulative financing inflow / cash retained at closing 2108854000 / 533075000 | C056 | 3.96x | August 2, 2026 |
Revision history
| Date | Version | Change | Author |
|---|---|---|---|
| August 1, 2026 | 0.1 | Initial record built from the SPAC IPO prospectus, the extraordinary general meeting Form 8-K and the completion Form 8-K. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.3 | Added post-closing annual results from SEC XBRL company facts and a benchmark-relative trading series with split-adjusted and as-traded prices. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.4 | Added the projected financial information presented in the definitive proxy statement and a variance analysis against reported revenue. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.5 | Added redemption tranches, share count and aggregate payment from the fiscal 2019 Form 10-K, which the completion Form 8-K did not state. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.6 | Identified the cause of the 2019 and 2020 restatements as the SPAC warrant reclassification required by the SEC Staff Statement of April 12, 2021. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.7 | Extended the projection comparison from revenue alone to gross profit, EBITDA and capital expenditure, each reconstructed from reported figures on a stated basis. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.8 | Added the SEC staff review of the Form S-4, the two rounds of comments on the projections and the valuation basis, and the proxy's statement that no third party valuation was obtained. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.9 | Reconciled the sponsor's 15,750,000 post-combination shares to the 17,250,000 founder shares: 1,500,000 underlie the Director RSU Awards granted to four SCH directors. | Project research |
| August 1, 2026 | 0.10 | Constructed the fully diluted capitalization at closing from the warrants outstanding and the 2019 Plan reserve stated in the completion Form 8-K. | Project research |
| August 2, 2026 | 0.1 | Added an outcome-to-date section measuring the transaction from the perspective of a public SPAC shareholder through July 31, 2026, including the redemption counterfactual, dilution since closing and market capitalization against cash retained. | Project research |
| August 2, 2026 | 1.1 | Added the cumulative operating burn and financing inflow for 2020 through 2025, which is the mechanism behind the growth in the share count. | Project research |
How to cite this page
Go-Public Transactions Research Repository, "Virgin Galactic 2019 De-SPAC (Social Capital Hedosophia Holdings Corp.)," research status: Research profile, analysis as of August 2, 2026, last verified August 2, 2026. https://ipo-docs.pages.dev/transactions/2019/virgin-galactic-2019-despac/ Underlying structured data for this transaction is available at /data/virgin-galactic-2019-despac.json .